Burnley F.C.

Group Options

Photo Albums

No album created yet.


There are no videos added yet


No event created yet.
Burnley F.C.
Group Information
Burnley F.C.
Thursday, 18 March 2010


Burnley Football Club (pronounced /ˈbɜrnli/), nicknamed The Clarets by fans, are a professional English football club based in Burnley, Lancashire. They were founder members of The Football League in 1888. The club colours are claret and blue, giving rise to their nickname of The Clarets, and their home ground since 1883 has been Turf Moor.

Burnley have been Football League Champions twice, in 1920–21 and 1959–60, and have won the FA Cup once, in 1914. The Clarets also reached the 1961 quarter-finals of the European Cup. They are one of only three teams to have won all top four professional divisions of English football. The other two teams are Preston North End and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

The club has spent most of its history in England's top two divisions, but remained outside the top flight from 1976 to 2009. From 1985 to 1992 they had a seven-year spell in the lowest tier of the Football League. In 1987 they narrowly avoided relegation to the Conference. Between 2000 and 2009 they played in the second tier of English football, until they gained promotion to the Premier League for the first time in 33 years after winning the 2009 Championship Play-off Final. After winning their first four home games, they are now the most successful newly promoted team at home with 4 straight wins, beating the previous record of 3 set by Blackburn Rovers.



No bulletin added yet


No discussion added yet.