Portuguese Liga PDF Print E-mail

The Portuguese Liga (Portuguese pronunciation: [ˈliɣɐ]), currently named Liga Sagres after its main sponsor, is the top tier in Portuguese club football. It's current champion is Futebol Clube do Porto. It also has a European ranking of 10th by UEFA.

The Liga is presently contested by 16 clubs each season, but only five of them have won the title. Currently in its 76th edition (counting four provisional championships in the 1930s) the competition is dominated by the nick-named "Big Three"; (Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Futebol Clube do Porto, and Sporting Clube de Portugal), who have a total of 73 titles, with Clube de Futebol Os Belenenses and Boavista Futebol Clube winning the other two.


Last Updated on Monday, 03 January 2011 02:22