Champions League PDF Print E-mail

Champions League

April 2010

Tuesday, April 20 2010
19.45 Internazionale - Barcelona
Wednesday, April 21 2010
19.45 Bayern München - Lyon
Tuesday, April 27 2010
19.45 Lyon - Bayern München
Wednesday, April 28 2010
19.45 Barcelona - Internazionale


The UEFA Champions League (usually referred to as simply the Champions League or historically as the European Cup) is an annual Association football cup competition organised by UEFA since 1955 for the top football clubs in Europe. It is the most prestigious club trophy in the world. The final of the competition is - along with the NFL's Super Bowl - the most watched annual sporting event worldwide, drawing just over 100m television viewers[1].

Prior to 1992 the tournament was officially called the European Champion Clubs' Cup but was usually referred to as simply the European Cup or European Champions' Cup. The competition was initially a straight knockout competition open only to the champion club of each country. During the 1990s the tournament began to be expanded, incorporating a round-robin group phase and more teams. Europe's strongest national leagues now provide up to four teams each for the competition. The UEFA Champions League should not be confused with the UEFA Europa League, formerly known as the UEFA Cup


Last Updated on Saturday, 17 April 2010 23:28