Málaga CF

Group Options

Photo Albums

No album created yet.


There are no videos added yet


No event created yet.
Málaga CF
Group Information
Málaga CF
Thursday, 18 March 2010


Málaga Club de Fútbol, S.A.D. is a Spanish football club based in Málaga, Andalusia. They currently play in Spain's La Liga.

Málaga CF is generally seen as the heir of CD Málaga, one of the most historical Andalusian football clubs, by being a near-identical looking football club that even shares the same fanbase and traditions, although in legal terms it's a different entity with a separate register and another founding date, the one of its former reserve team, Atlético Malagueño. As such, after the twenty seasons in La Liga, twenty-nine in Segunda División, and nine in Tercera División played by the now disappeared CD Málaga, the current Málaga CF has played seven seasons in La Liga three in Segunda División, three in Segunda División B and one in Tercera División. They also won the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 2002 and then they qualified for the following seasons UEFA Cup and reached the quarter-final stages.

In 2006 Lorenzo Sanz, a former Real Madrid president, purchased a 97% holding in the club and then appointed his son Fernando Sanz, the former captain of the team, as club president. The club has also its own reserve team, Atlético Malagueño.

The club also has a sizeable British following, mainly down to the large amount of British expats currently residing on the Costa del Sol.

Málaga participated in the Peace Cup 2009, held in Andalucia, with Sevilla, Huelva, Jerez and Málaga the host venues. Málaga were drawn against English team Aston Villa and the Mexicans Atlante. Málaga beat Aston Villa but lost to Atlante and finished bottom of their group.


No bulletin added yet


No discussion added yet.